125 Días

I have officially passed the 100 days mark, am approaching the halfway mark, enjoyed & made it through the holidays, have reached fluency (basically) in Spanish, and continuing to fall more and more in love with this country every day. In this past month and a half since my last blog post, I have visited El Escorial with exchange students, spent a day in Madrid with my Durangotang Dylan and Caroline from Boulder (Colorado kids take Spain), celebrated the beginning of winter break with a fiesta “Fin del Mundo”, experienced a Spanish Christmas and New Years, day trip to Segovia, and experienced the Spanish holiday el Día de los Reyes (Three Kings Day).

12366363_1011127635600340_9002417121202903338_n


MADRID

In the months before my departure to Spain, I remember having conversations with Dylan, imagining about how cool it would be that we would be living in Spain. As we looked over the city of Madrid, it felt too surreal to be true that here we are, living our dreams in Spain.  It was crazy but also super comforting to be reunited with one of my best friends, someone from the same town and knows my history, but in a foreign country.

First we went to the Royal Palace Gardens and soaked up the sun and took pictures. Later we got coffee, strolled through the streets, ate a súper rico lunch at a market. We ended the day lounging in a rooftop bar, taking in the beautiful views. Always enjoy every second when I’m with these two people. Don’t worry Colorado, you are well represented here in Spain.


EL ESCORIAL

El Escorial is a historical residence of the King of Spain and now serves as a monastery, royal palace, museum and school. I had a blast spending time with the Madrid exchange students, seeing the nativity scenes, and taking goofy foreigner photos.


FIESTA- FIN DEL MUNDO

End of school calls for a FIESTA of course. I’ve been blessed with the best group of friends that I could have ever wished for and have welcomed me with open arms into our familia of friendship. We spent the day dancing, singing, and chatting in the streets. In my opinion, it was the best way to start winter break.


FELIZ NAVIDAD

IMG_2953

Although it was especially difficult to be away from home (and snow) during Christmas, it was a wonderful opportunity to experience Christmas in a different country and all the different traditions it brings.

On noche buena (Christmas Eve), I helped my host mom navigate through the crowded grocery stores to buy all the food. Later, cousins and uncles came over and we spent time together sharing stories and playing video games. At 6:00pm we drove to “our pueblo”, Roa, where my host parents were born and raised. We spent the first half of the night with Marisa’s family (in picture above), bar hopping and admiring the beautiful little town.

We ate dinner at my host dad’s mom’s house that consisted of 5 hours of eating followed by a couple hours of bingo and we finally made it home at 4am (leaving just enough time for Papa Noel to swing by).

One thing I can say for sure is that after the holidays, the exchange weight gain and the holiday weight gain have definitely hit hard. This is because the meals on Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, New Years Eve, New Years Day, AND Día de los Reyes, were pretty similar time length wise and dish wise. Each meal consisted of 5+ hours of eating and 8-10 different dishes in one seating. However, I can justify eating so much because 1: it is so dang delicious, and 2: holiday meals are such a big part of any culture, it was my duty as an exchange student to experience/eat all that I could. The Christmas meals consisted of shrimp, crab, lobster and oysters, followed by steak/fish with potatoes and salad. Finally deserts such as Turron and a pastry similar to cheesecake.

 

NOCHE VIEJA| NEW YEARS EVE

2015 was probably one of the best years of my life. Preparing for exchange, creating closer relationships with family and friends, enjoying summer time in Colorado, and finally spending the last 3 and 1/2 months of the year in Spain. That being said, it was a little sad to say goodbye to 2015. However, spending New Year’s in Spain with my host family and my incredible Spanish friends, was the best way possible to end 2015 and begin 2016.

 

New Years Eve/ Noche Viaje was spent with another super delicious meal. One Spanish tradition is to eat 12 grapes in the last 12 seconds of the year, which was way fun and defiantly plan on continuing that tradition when I return to the U.S.

Later at 1am, I went out with my friends to la Plaza Mayor. Everyone was dressed in suits and dresses and we welcomed in the new year until 6am.


SEGOVIA

IMG_8892Wandering through the rainy streets of Segovia, admiring the beauty of el Catedral de Segovia, spending time in a real life castle Alcazar de Segovia, and seeing el Acuadecto de Segovia, was such an amazing experience, it still feels too good to be true.

The rain made for more of an adventure!

Glimpse of the life of the kings and queens.

The architecture is incredible.

Would yah mira que bonita.


DÍA DE LOS REYES MAGOS | THREE KINGS DAY

IMG_8980

Possibly one of the coolest things I have seen so far has been getting to experience a Spanish holiday that doesn’t exist in the U.S, and that is called Día de los Reyes Magos or The Three Kings Day. This holiday is more equivalent to the traditional American Christmas where everyone leaves their shoes under the tree in hopes that the Three Kings will come to visit during the night and leave gifts.

Every town and city across Spain has a parade in which the Three Kings arrive. The costumes and floats are stunning and the energy is infectious.

My shoes were clean so the Wise Men came to visit!

Its tradition to eat Rosca de Reyes, bread filled with a creamy center. Inside is a small figurine of Jesus and whoever gets the slice with it in it, has to buy the bread the next year.


 

MÁS FOTOS | MORE PICTURES

IMG_3168.JPG


 

QUESTIONS??? Ask ’em below!

5 thoughts on “125 Días

  1. Wow Anne you are having such a neat time.
    I love “your look.” What fun things have you bought since arriving?
    Was it hard to get adjusted to all the night time stuff? Now I understand the need for seista!
    Missed you here in Durango but we all knew you were having the time of your life.
    Hugs….💋

    Like

    1. The fashion in Spain is amazing. Everyone has great style. I’ve bought a pair of black boots/heels, skirts, a fur vest, oversized scarves, ect… The social scene of Spain starts when the sun goes down. We go out for drinks, eat dinner around ten, and stay out until 2am-6am. It was a challenge to adjust for sure. I’m absolutely exhausted after winter break because every single night was an extremely late night. Defiantly having a lot of fun!

      Like

      1. Glad to know you r up grading ur wardrobe….I still have all of the things I have bought over the years in my foreign travels, real keepsakes.
        Have a good 2nd term. I know you are working very hard at school but remember to keep enjoying the experience.
        I am with Aunt Susy & Al, cousin Susy headed to Houston. We spent the night in Roswell. Didn’t see any spacecrafts or funny little people. Oh well.
        I hate it, I’m up and ready to go and they are all sleeping.
        Luv ya

        Like

Leave a comment